For a few days . . .elegance . .

?????????????

The hardest decision I ever made in my life was the decision to sell my house and almost everything I had accumulated through the years.

The lightest I have felt, in several ways, is NOW in my new smaller space.  I brought nothing with me except those things I would need and would use.  Housekeeping now is a snap.  Cozy has a new meaning.

But the move brought surprises, and a most notable one popped up this week.  I looked out the window one morning and noticed the trees on my lawn.  I knew they were there . . nice little maples . . .but I didn’t know the leaves would turn to gold and then bright red.  They are brilliant.

The realization came to me that I own these trees.  They are mine.  They came with the house.  I have owned trees before, but they were old and rather overgrown, needed trimming, and filled the lawn with leaf litter.  My new trees are a fine symbol for my new life.

I love trees.  I fell in love with trees as a child on the farm, where I crawled up and onto their branches to pick mulberries, to eat green apples, to hide away for an afternoon with my book.  I loved the sound of the wind in the cottonwoods.

Er . . correction . . I just realized that the person in the other half of this house probably owns one of the trees.  Okay, I own one tree.   No . . there’s one of another kind near the garage.  Okay.  Now I own two trees again.

So much has been written making comparison with trees and our lives, so I won’t need to write about trimming branches of the young, or caring for the ancient ones.  But here’s a thought that did occur to me one day and I wrote about it in a highly unprofessional way . . which I will explain in a future post.

Dekarmalizing

We’d like to be lady
And lord of the manor
With acres of land
That we own free of debt.
We’d like to be smarter and
Thinner and tanner
And think that old age
Isn’t creeping up yet.
We’d like all our kids
To be handsome, athletic,
And brainy enough
To place first on the list
And then to go on to
Executive stardom
And marry just once
To the best one they kissed.
But life has a way of
Repeating a pattern
So apples that fall
Remain close to the tree
And the children we raise,
Although smart and good looking,
Repeat all the faults
That as children they see.
So we watch for improvement
As age comes upon us
And hope that our kids
Will reverse all the trends
And erase all the burdens
Of family karma . .
Make history maybe,
At least make amends.

– Doris Markland
 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jeanie Sellars
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 17:38:45

    So g;ad you decided to move across the street and become my neighbor and not only share your trees but your beautiful thoughts…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

