Look Alikes

Have you ever noticed that girls on TV all look alike?  Well, they do.  And through the years we girls have always fallen into the habit of wearing our hair as others do.

Here is my mother’s graduation picture from 1920.  Notice that EVERY SINGLE GIRL IN THE CLASS is wearing the same hair style.  Can you imagine that a bun on each side of the head was supposed to make them look pretty?  My mother said it was accomplished by “ratting” the hair.  (I will speak of this again later.)

Mom's Graduation

In the 40’s, my time, the girls wore their hair long with a roll on top and the sides brought up and pinned.  We put curls into our hair by “putting it up” with pincurls  every night.  We did this by putting a finger on our scalp and then winding a lock of hair around it and securing it with a bobby pin.  Our heads would be covered with bobby pins and we would sleep on that all night.  Anything for beauty.

??????????

Yes, of course, that is me.  And in the class picture you couldn’t tell one girl from another (except for color, of course)

In 1970 girls wore their hair shorter, puffed up slightly by rolling the hair up around orange juice cans for a while, then, then sweeping a lock onto the cheek.  It was cute.  I thought my daughter was the cutest.  In the  class picture they all looked pretty much like her.

Sara 70.

Now my granddaughter and my great granddaughter look pretty much like the girls you see on TV.  Beautiful.  (But the hair does tend to get in the way of seeing, speaking and eating, particularly on a windy day)  It will change soon and you can be sure all the girls will fall into line.

Oh, the ratting.  We did that in the 60’s and 70’s, only we called it “back-combing”.  We pushed hair back into hair with a special comb until it looked like a helmet (according to my daughter).  We did it because it stayed all day, never blew in the wind, never needed a touch-up.  We must have been crazy.  I have destroyed all the pictures,

Please come and sit with me again.  I have some things I want to talk about.  I need you.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Harry Everhart
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 13:54:18

    Hi Doris – I love your page but especially the bathing suit “pinup.” Keep writing – it is good for the spirit. I started my page in 1975 at age 57. At 65 – it is still a lot of fun. Right now we are building a new house and have been posting daily pictures on my page. I get over 500 reader hits a day. I will follow your page.
    Harry

    Reply

  2. Sara Markland
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 16:58:56

    good to see you are finally a blogger!!!

    Reply

  3. nataliemaynor
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 06:35:38

    I had forgotten about “ratting” hair! No, I’m your mother’s generation — we also ratted hair in … when was it? late ’50s or early ’60s, I think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

