My Payne-ful Experience

????????????????

Here I am with Alexander Payne, the producer/director of the movie Nebraska, which will be shown in theaters soon.  I had occasion to meet and visit with Mr. Payne because I read for a part in his movie, after first reading for the casting director and then receiving a call-back to read for Payne.  They were looking for local people in my general age group, and I might have been Bruce Dern’s sister-in-law, a speaking part, had I not been so bedazzled by Mr. Payne that I was almost speechless.

But later, at a wine-tasting party he sponsored at our local arts center, I met again and visited with him.  He is real, gentle, and remarkably charming.  We talked about The Descendants, the movie he made in Honolulu, where I spend a lot of time.

There will be a premiere showing of Nebraska in a couple of weeks, here in Nebraska where the movie was filmed.  I will be a guest . . because I bought a ticket.  Mr. Payne will be there, and perhaps Bruce Dern, Will Forte, and other cast members.  It will be exciting for local people who were cast in speaking parts, as extras, and stand-ins.

Sunday there was a very good article in the New York Times about Bruce Dern, his background and his chances of winning an award for his acting in Nebraska . . in addition to his Best Actor award at this year’s Cannes Festival, where the movie received an 11-minute standing ovation.  He has an interesting background which may surprise you, and a big story developed here when he and Alexander Payne, while filming in a small town nearby, discovered both their grandparents had lived there once.

Read about Mr Dern here:  http://tinyurl.com/k34hos4 and go see this interesting black-and-white movie.

I’m sure it will be better with me not on the screen but the one clapping the loudest at the showing.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Myles
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 02:01:46

    Glad you had such a great experience with that, Doris. I’m a big fan of Payne and “The Descendants” too. And I see “Nebraska” has already racked up a rave review. Look forward to seeing it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

