Royal Tease

Image

Please, please don’t think I am sharing this picture out of any kind of disrespect or twisted humor.

I cleaned out my billfold today, parts of which had not seen the light of day for years.  This old picture of the queen, probably from some shabby tabloid, shows much more crease lines than does her face, I am sure.  I tucked this there one day many years ago, just to remind me that no one is perfect and all of us are humans with the same human moments.

Last year, in Honolulu, I ordered some wall tile which I was to pick up the next day in the store’s office.  The clerk told me she would tell the staff there to expect me and have the order ready.

The next afternoon when I stepped into that office a clerk turned to the others and said “There she is.  Get the order.” and then called me by name.  I was puzzled and asked how they knew who I was.  And the clerk said, “Well, she told us that the woman we were to watch for looks like the queen of England.”

I’ve been told that before, occasionally, and we are in fact less than a year apart in age.  But when that  happens I can always pull out this picture to show them how alike we do indeed look . . , at times.

Have a good day.

Aside

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristin
    Nov 24, 2013 @ 03:41:53

    Made me laugh. And smile. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jeanie Sellars
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 16:26:15

    I enjoyed the article,,,,come to think of it, you do look something like the queen, just don’t ever pick your nose…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

