Memories in Sepia

Image

Do you have some of these precious family pictures in sepia?  I marvel at their quality and how well they have withstood the years.  This is a photo of my grandmother and great grandmother, etc.  My mother had not yet been born, so I know the picture was taken in the late 1800’s.  The actual picture is sharper than it looks here, but, even so, note all the detail.  Then look at my next post.

Aside

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Kladstrup
    Feb 23, 2014 @ 12:28:32

    Do you remember when color photography was new, and archivists were telling us, “If you want pictures to last, take them in black and white.” I had some lovely ones of Lou Gingles in a gorgeous suit and wearing red platform heels and she faded through the years till I could hardly see the picture, let alone the colors. Thank goodness for the family oldies like my Mum and Dad when they were four or five years old and still bright as new in frames above my desk.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

