Now Picture This . . .

Image

And remember those quaint pictures of tourists sunning on the beach in Waikiki?

Whoops!  This picture was taken in 2012.  My computer “sepia-ed” it for me.  And that makes me wonder about several things.  I started wondering if my mind “sepias” pictures stored away for a long time.

I tried an experiment.  I asked my mind to bring up a memory from 1942, another from 1952.  It was complicated.  My mind tried to bring it in color . . but  didn’t remember what colors people were wearing, what kind of day it was,  Yet it was a clear picture and I even sensed the feelings of the moment.

But here was my problem.  I couldn’t examine a memory because it took my mind to think about what I was seeing.  And when I did so I lost the picture I was looking at.  My mind was busy thinking.  It was a little like patting your head while circling your tummy, only worse.

See what you can do.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Donna Thomas
    Feb 22, 2014 @ 18:02:46

    I did try to recall several images from the past. Although I could see the images and sense how i felt at that particular time, I could not put color to the pictures. It goes along with the adage – you may forget particulars of an image, but you’ll never forget how you felt at the time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

