How High? . . . .

Image

I am home again and after settling in I am carrying out one of my New Year’s resolutions.  It’s a tough one.  I vowed to review all the pictures in my computer and erase the ones I don’t need to keep . . especially the multiple duplicates.  In a few days I have sent several thousand pictures to the recycle bin.  (How did they name that the recycle bin?  This is the disappear forever bin).

While viewing, I cannot help pausing for one last look at certain photos.  Like this shot I captured several years ago while sitting on my lanai.  I noticed something moving on the floor . . well, not moving . . hopping. . and I realized this little grasshopper should be on an Olympic team.  He has found himself on the 22nd floor!

Sometimes I consider that anything that catches my attention may be for a purpose.  I think I could meditate on this little grasshopper and see something, such as  (1) When someone tells me to jump, don’t always answer “how high?” and (2) When setting my own goals don’t set a limit on how high I  can go.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna Thomas
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 14:48:56

    Love to read your sage outlooks; great to see you on line!

    Reply

  2. Barbara Kladstrup
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 18:10:37

    Hi Doris, Glad you were able to come home. Annie said you’d have to have an okay from your doctor. Imagine you have mixed feelings when you leave that paradise with its lovely memories. We missed any possible showings of Nebraska, and I was disappointed until I realized that we could get a copy from Netflix and pass it around to members of our movie club. It’s our turn to entertain, so we’ll lead the discussion which should be interesting, because it was a very good movie (And you’re right! I know a lot of the people!) We’ll tell them about our close connection to the making of it in Norfolk, and about your trying out for one of the parts. Still think you’d have been better than the one who got the part, whichever part it was. One of the aunts? Could you tell us before we meet the last Sunday of the month, and also any tidbits they;d enjoy, including your visit with the director at the cocktail party? Ray’s going to Washington D.C. on one of those honor flights for veterans. He’s asked his one of his granddaughters to be his companion (to watch over him.) Since he’s a WWII vet, they’re particularly anxious that they have a wheel chair whenever necessary etc. Love your writings! Barb

    T

    Reply

Leave a Reply

