My Comings and Goings . .

 

ImageLanikai Beach at Kailua

My Comings and Goings

I tend to wade into life
the way I wade into water,
first testing with my toes,
then standing in the sand
To feel the water flow
until it draws me slowly in,
two shivers to my ankle,
six shivers to my knee,
with long waits between steps
when the strong waves slap
and swirl around my tender thighs.

I always dive . . eventually . . 
and once I do I’m warm and
so at peace I can’t imagine
why I didn’t leap at once
into what feels like home.

Wading out is easier.
There is no shock in going back
to where I’ve walked before.
Gently guiding with my arms
And swishing with my feet
I ride the waves toward shore
Until I feel the shelf of sand.
I stand and wave to friends
and loved ones on the beach
who motion come and join us
in the sun again, and offer towels
and arms to warm and welcome me.

           – Doris Markland

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 21:25:11

    I love it!!

    Reply

  2. Betty
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 21:30:20

    I want to go wading in the ocean!

    Reply

  3. Donna
    Apr 17, 2014 @ 09:39:52

    A common happening poetically and beautifully penned😊

    Reply

Leave a Reply

