In Twenty-five Words or More . . .

   

Image

The things you find when you move! 

Here is a newspaper article so faded it’s hard to read, but it announces that I have just won a baby blue 1960 Rambler station wagon in an “I like (some product) because ………. in 25 words or less contest.  Those were the days! 

This was a big national contest, and several weeks after the closing date I was notified that my entry was in the top five.  A Pinkerton detective was sent to interview me in my home, to ascertain that I or none of my family was employed by Quaker Oats and that I had personally written the entry, etc.  Top prize was something like $10,000, which in those days was quite a bit of money.

Weeks went by.  Finally, one morning I received a call from the local car dealer asking if I would be home that morning and said he was coming out, along with a representative of the Quaker Oats company.   So then I knew I had won the car (second prize) and not the money.  Still, it was a nice surprise and very exciting.

Problem was I had just washed my hair and they said they were bringing a photographer.  Time to swallow pride.  I tied a silk scarf over my head, and after the hand shaking we planted Sara and John on top of the car for a picture. . . and we were front page of the newspaper that night.  Embarrassing, but I had to let Quaker get their advertising.

We drove the Rambler around town  one day, then put it up for sale.  With the money our family took a wonderful trip by train to Los Angeles and San Francisco.  Amazing to see so much of our country in comfortable seats in a glass dome car, and the dining room was an experience!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesterland
    May 27, 2014 @ 10:44:33

    Do you remember what you said that won?

    Reply

  2. kamana2202
    May 27, 2014 @ 10:57:33

    No. I won a lot of prizes in a lot of contests and it was a lot of work. But I learned a lot about writing. That was 50 years ago!

    Reply

  3. Donna
    May 27, 2014 @ 12:27:20

    Doris Markland, you are charmed and charming😊

    Reply

  4. Kathy
    May 27, 2014 @ 17:55:02

    Oh my goodness, I cannot imagine how exciting that must have been! It’s amazing to think of winning a contest with thousands of entries all over the nation! I’m not surprised that YOU won — you have such a way with words and such a talent — but I still find it just amazing to think about! Congratulations many years later —

    Reply

  5. Barbara Kladstrup
    May 28, 2014 @ 09:01:25

    I’m impressed! Not because you won, but because none of us knew about your winning or at least I didn’t! Had a spring greeting from Nancy the other day. Good to hear from her. We’re leaving tomorrow for Minnesota where Ray will walk down the aisle with his granddaughter at her wedding. We’ll stay in our hotel till Kathy and I fly to Boston on Wednesday for Kristin’s son John’s high school graduation. Home the following Tuesday, I hope. We’ll have the ipad so I can keep up with you! Love, Barb

    Reply

Leave a Reply

