Dressing up and Going Out

6380 - Copy

Old pictures fascinate me, even when I don’t know the people in them.  But in this case I do know the people.  It is my parents, who were married 94 years ago this week.  This picture tells me many things.  Like . .

1.  Young people don’t have many fears.  You know there is a river right below where they are perched on that railing. 

2.  Years ago, young people dressed fit to kill for a date.  A date was a really big deal.

3.  Styles have always come and gone.  Look . . they are both wearing pointy toed shoes. 

4.  I’m gonna guess that Archie’s mother Jenny washed that white shirt, starched and ironed it with special care for this occasion.  And maybe pressed his suit with a flatiron she heated on the top of her big old kitchen stove.

5.  I’m gonna guess that Claire made her dress.

6.  I’m gonna guess it was a double date.  Someone was there to take the picture.

7.  I’m gonna guess there wasn’t much kissing going on . . until they took off those hats.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margy Ehrenfried
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 09:39:44

    Great post, Doris!

    Reply

  2. Sara Markland
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 13:20:32

    I am going to guess that Grandma’s best friend for over 90 years, Ione took that picture alongside her boyfriend. And, knowing that group I am going to guess there was a lot of laughter and shenanigans.

    Reply

  3. Barbara Kladstrup
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 13:48:49

    Loved the picture and your sage comments. I’m afraid I wouldn’t have noticed all those things. Weren’t they elegant? In Moorhead are pictures of my parents at Morningside. Dad had a big Marmon convertible (maybe all cars were convertibles back then) and in one picture they’re on a Morninside blanket on a picnic eating and drinking something Mum referred to schnapps which was grape juice and gingerale as I remember. Enjoy your blogs, Doris!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

