Book ’em, Danno . . .

I know I mentioned here that I might have a book out before Christmas.  However, the process will not be complete by then, so the book will be out sometime after Christmas.  It will still be a good gift item, however, for birthdays, Valentines, Mother’s Day, etc.

This blog is a fair example of what the book will be like . . poems and stories, true and sometimes serious, sometimes humorous.  In fact, some items from my blog will be included in the book.

I am told the delay might work to my advantage.  A late 2014 book will be old in January.  A book out in January will be listed with new books in all of 2015.  Good thinking.

It would have been great if a publisher had approached me and offered to publish my book.  Duh.  It doesn’t work that way.  Even if I had sent it out to publishers I might not get a response in my lifetime.  So I had no choice but to self publish, which I find is an education in itself and a rather complicated one.

Right now I am still checking for errors and soon will be working with the design department on choosing the fonts and styles.  Then I will work with the cover designers and then the back cover people, and then the printing and final proofing.

Gads.  It is quite an investment in both my time and money to self publish, so that if the project ever gets finished I am told I will need to be a great promoter of sales in order to earn some of my money back.  Aside from my own efforts, however, the book will be carried by Amazon and Barnes and Noble, iUniverse Bookstore and others.

I can tell you this.  The book will be called Playing Life By Ear.

So watch for later developments.

– D. M.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Dec 14, 2014 @ 08:25:32

    Exciting. Will look forward to it. I’m reading one that another wordsler, Maureen Anne Jennings, wrote now. Actually it is the second in a serious of three. It’s on Amazon, too. First one is Bartender Wanted and the second is One Too Many. (Rose Leary Series).

    Reply

  2. Donna Thomas
    Dec 14, 2014 @ 08:38:14

    Yet another of many journeys. I shall look forward to getting the book!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

