Aloha from Paradise . . .

??????????????????????

Yesterday I landed in Honolulu for the 40th time.  I must explain, for those who don’t know me, that we made our first trip here in 1975.  In 1978 we bought a condo apartment here, and this was our vacation home for years.  Now it is actually my second home, where I spent the winter months to escape the icy weather in Nebraska.

There is a four-hour difference in time, which always leads to temporary confusion.  Sleepy, after a twelve hour trip from Birmingham, where I’d been visiting, I went to bed early by Honolulu time.  This morning, well rested, I was up and the bed made before I realized it was 6:00 in Nebraska . . but 2:00 a.m. in Hawaii.  I think it is going to be a long day.  Still, it doesn’t take long to slip into a new schedule.

So, up early with hours to fill before the sun, I’m sipping tea and pondering about transitions.  I’m thinking . . no, I’m seeing . . that wherever I find myself it is a simple necessity that I must adjust to it to be THERE in that space, at that time.  If I’m with people I must be THERE where they are and not with my mind somewhere else.  If I’m driving a car I must be THERE and not in another zone from which I don’t see direction signs and immediate dangers.  The same holds true when I walk about in my home.

This is sometimes a challenge for a born daydreamer like me.  But I’m learning.

I’m learning too how better to use that time.  Basically we divide our 24 hours per day into eight hours for business, eight hours for our social life, and eight hours for regrouping, resting and attending to personal matters.  When I stick to that I get things done.  When I mix them up, confusion creeps in.

Even in this lovely tropical paradise, even with the privileged life granted to people in my age group, all of the above holds true.  We may have retired from many things, but never from learning about life.

Aloha,

D. M.

 

 

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna Thomas
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 14:24:08

    Wisdom from a wonderful human being!!
    Aloha😊

    Reply

  2. Kathy
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 15:16:46

    Great thoughts, Doris! I’m so glad to hear you made it safely and are ready for new experiences in the warm sunshine!
    Relax … enjoy … and learn!

    Reply

  3. Donna Milner Thomas
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 15:57:45

    You look radiant! How come Bob and I never arrive glowing, poised and unwrinkled?

    Wishing you well…

    Donna

    >

    Reply

  4. Barbara Kladstrup
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 20:38:48

    Amen, Doris! I didn’t see any time allotted to sleeping in your 24 hour schedule except for “rest”. There were a few nights when I felt I’d lost all control of my inner clock. I like to think I’m still in control of my brain, and I would wake up two hours after I lay down (or did I “laid down”?) Then after an hour or so I’d go back to sleep, etc. etc. all through the night. Hot tea, warm milk, a dull book, nothing was working till suddenly one night I was back on schedule. Hurray! Don’t know whether our Christmas card ever caught up with you, but we spent Christmas in Minneapolis with Ray’s three daughters and their families, then got on another plane headed for San Francisco where he spent another five days with my three and their families. Back to Minneapolis overnight with Kathy and a flight back to Bella Vista the 3rd of January. Kristin has another book at the publishers’, but it won’t come out for some time. I love the idea—Set in Russia, it’s the story of the mice who live in the Russian opera house and put on their own version of The Nutcracker. It’s a chapter book but they’re planning to illustrate it and it all takes time. I think she’s already received her advance so she’s content. You do lead a fascinating life, Pete, and we’re all proud of you and your upcoming book which I hope will be on Amazon dot coml. Love, Barb ‘

    Reply

  5. Jeanie sellars
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 21:56:38

    Loved the write up…enjoy the sun

    Reply

  6. Vicki Heelan
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 15:36:44

    Doris, you looks rested and chipper after that very long flight. Perhaps you can nap or actually sleep on planes, as I do.

    Budda said “Be in the moment”… Which is pretty much the answer to what you were talking about…being “there” wherever “there” is…but I think women especially are inclined to multitask and our total concentration isn’t being given to the task or problem at hand…

    Have a great winter and come home safely…thanks for your many great shares.

    Vic

    Reply

  7. Rob
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 13:28:33

    Aloha! I was at The Travis McGee Reader & noticed the link to your blog, imagine my surprise when I found it as coming from Honolulu. The 1st of December 1960 was when we landed in Hawaii, I was in the 2nd grade & we spent the next 6 years there. It was a great place to be a kid! We started out at a motel across the street from Ft Derussy and moved to Kailua.
    I was later stationed there later in the Coast Guard. I often think of going back for a month or so …. I get island fever so a month would be good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

