Well, isn’t this “special”. . . . . . .

Tom as church lady

How I wish we could have had cell phones and ipads through all the years of my life.  In fact, in most of the years when my children were small I didn’t even have a camera.  Now parents can capture every precious moment, store and share the photos everywhere.

Eventually, of course I did get a camera, and I have boxes of pictures I am now sorting out to deal with.  But those early years of my marriage and my parenthood are private . . still safely stored in my memory.  I can pull them up and re-live precious moments at any time, something I do a lot of in these later years.

In fact, every member of the family has his own private memory collection, and they are all quite different.  Even mind photos of the same event differ, because we snap the mental image in the moment that is real to us and to our own interpretation.  Even if we had the actual photo we might all interpret it differently.  Sometimes we do this, at family reunions or, especially, after someone’s funeral.

This photo was taken with a 35mm camera, which made fine clear snapshots that still look good on photo paper but don’t fare well on computer screens.  So this picture appears a bit fuzzy, but it’s one of my favorites.

I’ve forgotten the exact details, but here I am a number of years ago with daughter Sara and son Tom, who apparently showed up at a family gathering as a well-known TV personality.  Can you guess who that is?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Feb 01, 2015 @ 21:32:18

    The church lady!

    Reply

  2. Vicki Heelan
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 11:10:02

    Tom was always “special” to the Heelan Family. Still is. Dana Carvey was probably my all time favorite on Saturday Night Live. Thank you, Doris, for a wonderful photo memory of your family and the irrepressible Tom Markland exactly as we remember him … Holly and Lawnie will love it!

    Reply

  3. Jeanie sellars
    Feb 03, 2015 @ 14:22:24

    I give up…..who?????

    Reply

Leave a Reply

