Good Heavens . . . . .

church at beach

 

Today seems like a good day to post a picture of a church.  This is St. Augustine, on the beach at Waikiki.  Well, actually, it is across the street from the beach, but it’s right there in the midst of beautiful scenery and tourists.  Across the street (to your right) is the Marriott Hotel, and the street that runs between the two goes straight back to my house, which you see at the very back of the church (because this picture is taken at an angle.)  Just above the last white post on the side of the church you will see my lanai (balcony).

 

Beach to Banyan

My house (seen here to the right of the church)  has 38 floors and I am on the 22nd floor.   And from my lanai  I look down that street and directly at the beach, blue water, white waves . . and then on up to blue sky with white clouds.  I was standing in the ocean when I took this second picture.

Now, from the 22nd floor, looking out from my lanai, this is what I see:

????????????????

It was quiet earlier this morning.when this photo was taken.  No foamy waves, no fluffy clouds. No cruise ships,  no surfers.   Now it is coming alive.  A few yachts, some Sunday canoers, and at the skyline a huge white ship approaching the harbor.  The surfers are out of luck today but recently had 10 ft. waves, while across the island on the north shore they had 40 ft. waves.

Though I’m sure you should never look down on a church, you see that I have no choice.  However, from my lanai, where I sit to enjoy either the sun or the moon, perhaps I am looking toward the greater church, after all, while feeling a wonderful peace in my inner church.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 06:50:30

    Such BEAUTIFUL pictures! Thanks for sharing them with us — how fun to spend a moment in time with you in Hawaii!

    Reply

  2. Barbara Kladstrup
    Feb 11, 2015 @ 11:34:51

    What lovely pictures of your winter home, Doris. No wonder you can talk about an inner peace when you have such a glorious view. And what fond memories we have of being with you and Gene and Bev and Dick there in beautiful Hawaii. You made a wise decision all those years ago when you two invested in that apartment or condo or whatever. It sounds as though your daughter spends at least part of her winter there near you?? This year we opted to stay in Bella Vista after spending a month or so each winter in south Texas near the mobile home park where my brother and sister-in-law spend their winters. This was a good year to make that choice, because we’ve had unbelievably warm weather most of the time. In the meantime, Kristin and her family are up to their necks in one snowfall after another in Boston. If I remember correctly, you and I are the last of the GG’s who will turn 90 this year and both of us in August. Has your family been asking about how you’d like to celebrate? Celebrate! What are they talking about? But, as I thought about it, I decided on the place–Where else for me but Moorhead? It’s always been home to me and, since we lived so close in Sioux City, our girls have lovely memories of family get-togethers with their cousins. How about you? Do any relatives live in Stanhope? Enjoy your random thoughts that invoke memories of my own. Wish I could express them as well as you do. Thank you for sharing. Love, Barb

    Reply

Leave a Reply

