Can bad luck be good luck? . . . . .

19858630-water-question-mark-over-open-book[1]

There is always, or so it seems, good luck and bad luck.  But some days I can’t decide which is which.  You will forgive me, I hope, if I get just personal enough to explain that.

I had been working on my book and it was coming together, but I was invited to miss the coming cold weather by going south to spend the holidays with family.  I didn’t hesitate, although I knew my plans would be disrupted by kids and dogs, long dinner conversations, frequent outings, and the making of peanut brittle.

So the last pulling together of poems and stories for the volume began to lag, of course.  But then a strange thing happened.  An area above my ankle turned red and swollen and caused eventually enough concern to land me in the hospital overnight and then be sent back to my guest home with an IV and a look-in nurse.

My skin has always been my Achilles heel, so if I must get a reaction, an infection, an imperfection it must land there.  (How fortunate the trouble avoids the stomach, the liver, the lungs, or the heart.)

So I was to sit all day, while family was at work and school, with my leg raised, with a heating pad on at times.  The dogs curled up, one at my feet and one beside me as close as he could get.  There was just room for the computer on my lap, which of course is where a laptop is supposed to be.  And there was nothing to do but to write, revise, retype and to seek advise or information  on my iPhone.

I was able to walk through Xmas, with other family in the south, and then to board the plane for my winter in paradise. Paradise is, however, wonderfully distracting..  How to ever get that book through the process of reviews and re-do’s and all the choices to be made and paid, under the spell of the ocean and palms?

But then a strange thing happened.  I developed another condition, affecting both legs, (thank heavens not my head or my back or my esophagous), and I was put on steroids.

Another setback I thought, at first, until I learned the nature of steroids.

Down to a deadline, and back to the sofa, I seemed to work at tremendous speed with great concentration.  I was awake through much of the night and even all day I seemed to have great energy, buzzed-up as it were, and able to concentrate fiercely, type rapidly, and make quick decisions.

Yesterday I met the inpossible.  My final revised drafts went off to the printer for final inspection and I’m moving closer to publication.

I still can’t decide if I had good luck or bad luck.

You are so going to want to know what is in that book.  I’ll keep in touch.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 13:39:40

    Yes, keep in touch. We are waiting. I hope all this isn’t painful in any way. Do you need me to come take care of you. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jeanie sellars
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 22:35:26

    So glad you are better…I would say God had a hand in this..can’t wait to see your book..Jeanie

    Reply

  3. Kathy
    Feb 26, 2015 @ 06:30:48

    Sorry that you had to go thru some discomfort, but so happy that all worked out for the best!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

