Eyes bigger than my stomach . . .

groceres

I remember once being at a lovely Easter buffet dinner in Honolulu with my sister and our husbands.  The food was incredible, table after table of artfully displayed foods, and the temptation to sample as many as possible was overwhelming.  I came back to our table on the lanai, by the ocean, with my plate very loaded and. suddenly feeling guilty. I commented “I think my eyes were bigger than my stomach.”

My sister slowly looked me up and down, concentrating on my middle, and slowly shook her head side to side.

Did you ever arrive at a place you’re going to be for a while, so you stock up on groceries at the beginning so you won’t need to go there again for a while?  And then you discover the price of 20 lbs of potatoes at Costco is the same as the price of 10 lbs in the grocery store, so it seems reasonable to buy the 20 lbs.  The same logic seems to apply to many other items, and you return from the store wheeling carts full, exhausted but knowing you will not want for food and will not have to fight traffic to shop for food for some time.

And then, remember preparing to leave the vacation premise, and you find the cupboard and the fridge still stocked with food you must find a home for?  As if you didn’t have enough to do at that point?

I still say “My eyes were bigger than my stomach.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki Heelan
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 19:24:38

    Raised in tiny Valentine, NE, so when we treveled to Omaha or Lincoln or any city that had a buffet type restaurant…that was always the comment from my Father when he saw all the food on my tray! “Honey, your eyes are bigger than your tummy!” He always offered to bet me I couldn’t clean my plate…Thank you for stirring great memories…

    Reply

  2. Vicki Heelan
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 19:25:28

    No, I never won that bet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

