A bike to like . . . . .

FullSizeRender

My daughter and I, driving down a busy street in Honolulu, saw this bike . . parked, locked and decorated to the nines with fresh Hawaiian flowers.

There’s got to be a story here.  I’ve tried and tried, but can’t imagine what it is.  Although Honolulu has very frequent parades, there was none scheduled for that day.  Anyway, you can’t ride a bike full of flowers . . they will fly in all directions. It was parked so that people could see and admire it.

Then it occurred to me that maybe the bike had died. You don’t think a bike can die?  Oh, but mine did.

I don’t know why, but I never owned a bike of my own.  I acquired a bike only when my brother outgrew his and it came to me.  By then I was probably in Jr. High.  The bike was large, a boys’ bike with the bar you had to throw your leg over when mounting.  The tires were narrow and hard, no balloon there.  I should have been embarrassed to be seen on such a monster, but I didn’t care.  I finally had a bike to ride into town, to ride with my best friend.

Then one day the bike died.  While I was riding it.  It split, the front wheel going off one direction and the back wheel going another.  I was dumped on the highway, and I never rode a bike again.

So strange, the simple things that can bring up memories from so long ago.

P. S.  As someone has suggested, in the comments, this bike may be decorated to commemorate someone who died on a bike.  That makes sense.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:37:11

    I bet it was fun to see that bike! For some reason I am remembering that I never had a new bike either! I rode the second hand one out for sure. Mostly we walked.

    Reply

  2. Karen
    Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:52:42

    Sometimes you see ghost bikes (painted white) where someone has been killed on a bike. Given that riding a bike in Honolulu is exceedingly dangerous, this seems like a natural extension to me.

    Reply

  3. Barbara Kladstrup
    Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:24:25

    Love your memologs which I prefer to call them! You’ve inspired me to try calling Ellen and Annie today. Fun to know you’re home again though I imagine you have mixed feelings about having to leave your Hawaiian paradise. Barb

    Reply

Leave a Reply

