images96IVSHair on face

Just curious.  How much time would you spend in conversation with this lady?   Is there something about her that bothers you, makes you uncomfortable?  Please tell me I am not the only one.

I don’t watch The View on ABC on a regular basis, but now and then I turn it on to see what they’re talking about.  I do enjoy talk when it’s interesting.  I often don’t agree with some of their talk, but that stimulates me to discern what I’d like them to say.

But when I do watch I almost have to look away and just listen.  There is something so put-offing when one covers her eye and another keeps uncovering her eye.  I know if I were on that show the producer would say, “Mrs. Markland . . please put your hand down, or Mrs. Markland, for God’s sake get your hair out of your face.”

So today I wrote a poem.  Okay . . you’re saying “There she goes again.”

I made a phone call to find the exact address, and before the day is over I may actually send the poem to The View.  Do you suppose they will read it?  Will understand it?  Let me know what you think.

Seeing Eye to I

I seldom watch the morning View

I’d like to tell you why . .

I cannot watch without the

thought that something’s

in my eye.

I can’t believe the sentiments

of those who hide their face

or those whose hand moves

constantly to whisk hair

back in place.

But even worse is one who combs

then lets her dark locks lie

across her face to keep herself

from seeing eye-to-eye.

I know I’m getting personal

But that’s what you do too

Whenever I allow my set

To open to the View.

And, honestly, I can’t believe

Your thoughts are meant for me.

When you do things to block the view

How do you think I’ll see?

– Doris Markland

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Apr 22, 2015 @ 20:58:04

    Oh my goodness, Doris, that is SO true! I don’t watch the View, either, but I do become uncomfortable in situations such as what you have described (and you did a marvelous job describing it perfectly!)…..so NO, NO, NO, you are NOT the only one! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Barbara Kladstrup
    Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:54:48

    I’m reading your book now page by page instead of skipping around and can hardly lay it down! You may be the most talented writer I’ve ever known, Doris, and I’m not going to trash-talk to my computer anymore!

    Reply

  3. Vicki Heelan
    Apr 26, 2015 @ 01:40:41

    My mother was big on French braids (skin tight, headache causing braids), and when I was older and wore my hair down, it was always “Get your hair out of your face!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

