Heavenly gift for Mother . . . . .

images[7]

You may not believe this, but upon my word, it is true.

A few minutes ago it hailed while the sun was shining.

I was in my kitchen, putting together a rhubarb cobbler.  I had made one a few days ago and put it in the freezer.  This one will go there too, what I don’t give away. There was an abundance of rhubarb because a friend gave it to me, having exhausted their limit of rhubarb sauce, cakes and pies.  Rhubarb comes around just once a year and is such a treat for people who grew up with rhubarb in the garden and a mother who took it in and did something delicious with it.

If you live in another part of the country and have never taken to rhubarb, that’s okay.  You couldn’t possibly understand.  Just like kale, to me, is a foreign imposter and rather strange.

No one is coming today for Sunday dinner, even though it’s Mother’s Day.  I wouldn’t expect them to.  One is in California, one in Honolulu, and one either in Florida or somewhere in the air piloting people to see their mothers.

So I’m just folding the rhubarb into the batter when I hear a sound at the window.  It is the first few little pellets of ice hitting the glass.  I ran to the front door to watch as the hailstones thundered onto the roof, the sidewalk, the bright green grass.  Not large enough, this time, for damage . . and thank heavens, as I’ve just replaced the roof after hail a few months ago . . baseball size.

It had been a lightly gray day, but now with the hail still filling the air, the sun came out.  It continued to hail for a few minutes in full sunshine.  A curious sight and somehow uplifting.

Uplifting?  Yes.  Not only was it a beautiful sight, but I took it as an honor,

the heavens singing

Hail to the Chef.

Happy Mother’s Day!

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    May 10, 2015 @ 15:28:38

    And to you, too! We want rhubard! It just not work in California. Haven’t had decent rhubard since leaving Montana.

    Reply

  2. Donna Thomas
    May 10, 2015 @ 15:38:27

    Happy Mother’s Day, Doris! Ordered a few more of your books…they truly make great gifts. Keep up the writings; you always brighten my day with your unique and uplifting insights❤️

    Reply

  3. Vicki Heelan
    May 10, 2015 @ 23:02:53

    Oh, my … Two of my favorite things in a single post.

    First, I love RHUBARB … Would almost trade one of my children (if they were being really icky bad) for a big batch of rhubarb. Of course that’s probably because I haven’t had it in a very long time… In Nebraska there was plenty in our backyard…in Florida my only option is frozen. See it fresh occasionally in the grocery store..but it’s huge, not much red color, just a sickly green and it’s price is ridiculous. Ordered 8 young plants out of a nursery in Georgia, hoping to grow some here. At first they shot right up about 6 to 8 more inches and then one by one they perished. Never see rhubarb at farmer’s markets .. Am guessing it just won’t grow well in South Florida…Truly I’d rather make and eat a rhubarb crisp than have filet and lobster for dinner!

    Second, I love puns. So the last few lines from this delicious posting of yours simply made my day. Thank you so much for the smiles, it was like getting one more bouquet or box of chocolates on Mothers Day. If I knew the words I’d be singing Hail To The Chef!

    Happy Mothers Day

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

  4. Jason
    May 11, 2015 @ 00:10:32

    I hope there is still some rhubarb in August. Can’t wait to get back!

    Reply

  5. Barbara Kladstrup
    May 12, 2015 @ 21:43:33

    Hello Doris, For a moment I forgot you were home in Norfolk, and I wondered about rhubarb in Hawaii? It grows around the cabins in Colorado, so we have lovely strawberry-rhubarb pies created by Granddaughter Kate when she’s there from California or husband Ray, who’s a great pie chef. I didn’t really like it as a child—maybe because it was so accessible. But you assigned the hail storm to the right Creator. Can’t imagine it baseball size, but one summer when we’d already left the mountains, there was such huge hail and so much that it clogged the road between Nederland and our little town of Eldora. and people couldn’t get home from work for awhile and they told us that graders were actually sent out. Hard to believe. With my girls in Boston, Minneapolis, and Sunnyvale, Calif. it sounds as though we had similar Mother’s Days. I’m going to use something from your book for a devotion for my Circle. Love it! Barb

    Reply

  6. Judy and Dean Anderson
    May 30, 2015 @ 12:31:27

    Doris, we just found your blog. We miss you. We are so sorry we lost contact with you in recent years. Being able to visit with you once a year for about 40 years was truly a joy. And, you and Gene were so good to Dean and I, but more than that, extremely good and generous to my mother and dad. We would love to communicate with you in the days ahead. We do not participate in any of the social media, but are active with email.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

