Being on Cloud Ten . . . . .

cartoon of angel

It’s not often that I find something on Facebook that I want to pass on, but I do think this cartoon is funny.  And it does drive home the point that we “can’t take it with us.”

{ OMG.  Do you realize that in the previous paragraph I actually said (see above) . . “I want to pass on”}

Which made me wonder.  If it takes me a while to realize that I still exist but without a body, what other things may I be doing?   Younger, I might have been sweeping floors or cradling babies.  Now, I think I would comfortably ease my imaginary body onto one of those clouds and put my feet up on another while I wait for further instruction.

I must admit that my favorite movie of all time is “Defending Your Life”, an Albert Brooks movie starring himself, Meryl Streep and Rip Torn.  I love Albert Brooks humor, and I appreciated his giving a light touch to something many people fear.  Perhaps we do have an opportunity to review our life and see where we might have made better choices and see what we’ve learned.

But then, why wait until my body kicks me out .  As I grow older I find myself doing that sort of reviewing, and I think it’s a common and useful experience for all people with white hair (or maybe no hair).  Perhaps if I get the review out of the way I may not have to wait on the clouds for so long before getting my next assignment or taking my place in the choir.

If there’s another life, I’ll swear (pardon me for that) never to say I’ll sort it all out later.  I think I will sort it out as I go.

 

{ Note:  In heaven OMG stands for Oh My Goodness!}

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna Thomas
    Jun 06, 2015 @ 16:08:44

    Love your outlook!

    Reply

  2. Barbara Kladstrup
    Jun 08, 2015 @ 14:29:20

    What a clever cartoon, but since I don’t text it took me awhile to “get it”! Or maybe I still don’t get it–maybe they’re doing something beyond texting. I have stashed away in my notebook this comment by Albert Einstein, which probably refers to something more than mere texting: “I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction. We will have a generation of idiots.” There’s something good about the whole procedure—it keeps us “in touch” and the older I get, the more I want to stay that way!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

