About Seniority . . . . .

I put a picture of me on Facebook this morning.  I found it while going through some old photos.  I have no idea where we were, but it appears we were on some kind of cruise when we were attacked by pirates.  Obviously I survived.

But I posted the picture because instead of posting me as elderly I thought I should post now and then from when I was youngerly.  In fact, I might follow this with others.  I am tired of being elderly.  And anyway I don’t feel elderly.

Do we choose when to be elderly, or do others decide when to call us that?   Of course in airports we show our I.D. information, but then in airports you might want to be elderly.  I can walk perfectly fine but I can’t walk a mile to get to the other end of the airport or to an adjoining one, so on that day I am elderly and I get to be whisked in a wheelchair through everything and seated first, with lots of help.

I also choose to be elderly at family gatherings because I’m tired of roasting turkeys and making pies.  I’m elderly when I enter a theater or a restaurant, and I don’t even have to prove it.  That’s because I have white hair.  But that’s not absolute proof.  I had a male cousin whose hair turned white when he was a high school senior.  Maybe it was the word senior that started the process.

If you have my book “Playing Life by Ear” you must read the chapter called Soul Survivor.  You will see how we become seniors in life before we can “pass.”

Just sayin’.

Doris and pirate

Doris and pirate

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki Heelan
    Jul 01, 2015 @ 21:22:23

    I believe everyone should get to choose what age they wish to be and when. My Father said you’re only as old as you feel, my Husband thought you were only as old as you acted. All of this, plus your choices of when and where and why sure work for me! Thanks for the validation…

    Reply

  2. Margy Ehrenfried
    Jul 01, 2015 @ 21:48:30

    Doris – You are still quite YOUNGERLY in spirit! I enjoyed your post! Margy

    Reply

  3. Betty Fjeldheim Clark
    Jul 02, 2015 @ 18:35:09

    I forget how old I am . (70). Yes, my body does remind me at times. A very nice teenager guessed me to be 47 yesterday. LOL. 47 IS old to a teenager.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

