Ho Down in Paradise

This is another in my series of youngerly photos.  It was taken in 1989 when I was 64. In all the years I had never seen Don Ho, a very popular Hawaiian entertainer you might remember from his songs Tiny Bubbles and Pearly Shells.  So one night we went, my sister and her husband and myself.  One reason was that we had met and become acquainted with one of the young singers in his show.

The show was very good.  Don sang a lot, but the real focus of the show was on the stage full of young musicians and entertainers that he promoted and performed with. When the show ended, my sister and I went to the stage to speak to the young singer we knew . . the one who sang in the highest possible falsetto.  He invited us up on the stage and then asked if we had ever met Don Ho.  When we said no, he said “follow me” and took us backstage to a tented area marked private for Don Ho.

Mr Ho was signing albums there, but asked us to go on inside his private tent. When he joined us and we were introduced, Mr. Ho asked if we would share a bottle of champagne with him.  But of course we did, and conversation flowed freely.  He was enjoying it and opened a second bottle, so we talked for quite a long time, and he insisted a picture be taken of our group.  I am sitting next to him, my sister and husband next.  The young man we knew, on the left behind us.  The others were people from his show.

It was a delightful evening. I must say.  For those of you who remember Don Ho and the various stories that sometimes circulated about him, he was a perfectly delightful man.  We learned, among other interesting things, that every young person on the stage with him would have their college education paid for by him. Doris with Don Hoclick to enlarge picture

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Donna Thomas
    Jul 13, 2015 @ 09:21:25

    You have so many stellar memories…I think you attract them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

