When in Rome . . . . .

 

Doris in Rome

Doris in Rome

One last photo from my brief series on being youngerly.  This one was taken in 1976 when I was 50, so you must know that I consider 50 to be very young.

You may think this is a treasured memory of a wonderful evening a few miles outside of Rome, where we toured beautiful gardens and were served lots of wine and Italian food.  On my right, my 13-year-old son is laughing at the waiters who set me up for this picture.  My husband, on the other side of him, is enjoying it too.

Yes, it was a night we will never forget.  On the way back to Rome, on a bus, I discovered that my billfold was missing from my purse.  The next day was our last day in Rome.  We spent it at the police station and the U. S. Embassy.  A police report was finally written, in English, but the typist had his hands on the wrong keys so not a word was readable.  The embassy replaced my passport.  American Express replaced my travel checks.  We all survived but missed a day of our vacation.

I kept the picture to remind me of what can sometimes happen when you allow someone to draw your attention completely away from where it ought to be.  I’m assuming this is a picture of the exact moment a waiter dropped his hand to the floor by my chair and found my billfold.

When in Rome, don’t do as the tourists do.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna Thomas
    Jul 16, 2015 @ 16:16:07

    What a situation!

    Reply

  2. Barbara Kladstrup
    Jul 17, 2015 @ 19:28:42

    Wh

    Reply

Leave a Reply

