Living in Real Time a Long Time . . . . .

Doris on motorcycle

What a weekend.  The kids were all here, with their kids, and their kids’ kids.  I must say, it was a good-looking bunch of people and they were all smart enough to get themselves away from their responsibilities for a few days and return to Nebraska in perfect weather.

We reminisced, watched old home movies, told stories, ate good food and sometimes tipped a wine glass and said good things about each other.

If you will remember, from reading my book Playing Life by Ear, I am in the unique position of being the family matriarch, as was predicted by an excellent psychic back in 1970.  But somehow I never felt like a matriarch until I sat at the head of the table the other night and looked around at those who followed me and had gathered to celebrate my 90th birthday.

30 year periods seem to be memorable.  Turning 30 is an important milestone.  And 60 definitely is recognized as a point of no return.  Turning 90 is a privilege, and one not given to everyone. . . or earned by everyone.  If I were to make it another 30 years I would be famous for quite a while.  Still, in time, people may do this . . . somewhere . . . . .

Of course I am not riding my grandson Jeff’s Harley.  I’m posing on his Harley.

But Saturday night, at the head of the table, I was not posing.  It was real.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna Thomas
    Aug 23, 2015 @ 13:17:34

    What a wonderful gathering for a wonderful woman!!

    Reply

  2. Betty
    Aug 23, 2015 @ 15:54:25

    Reply

  3. Kathy
    Aug 23, 2015 @ 18:29:14

    A most memorable time all together! How special!! Special day, special woman, special family, special celebration!! I’m disappointed, tho, that you were only posing on the Harley and not actually vroooooming around town on it!! Maybe next time?? So happy for you for all that you have accomplished and experienced in those 90 years — and thank you so much for recording some of it in your book! It is such a great read — so interesting and so inspiring! I’m ready for the sequel!!

    Reply

  4. Vicki Heelan
    Aug 23, 2015 @ 19:10:37

    Your words are treasured and enjoyed. Now, I’d like to thank you for the pictures,.. Appreciated the Birthday group photo, even tho I don’t know everyone in it…looks like Tom “has your back” these days … But I often think about the days when it was the other way round and you had his back as I did for son, Lawnie. Photo of you on the Harley is priceless. Thanks for all the sharing you do…somehow it evokes old and highly prized memories…

    Reply

  5. Jason
    Aug 23, 2015 @ 20:36:06

    You are the matriarch. What a wonderful time it was! We hope you come back to Birmingham this fall. We are sure to provide you with more writing material.

    Reply

  6. Barbara Kladstrup
    Aug 24, 2015 @ 21:28:56

    Congratulations, Doris, and you really rock on that Harley!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

