Pass it on . . . . .

Being Old

I didn’t write this.  It came with my morning mail, probably on Facebook.

It’s one of those things people pass around and no one knows where it originated.  This one, while not attractively presented, is pretty true.  I have had feelings like that.  And the post brought me a smile.

I will read and appreciate something that rings true or something that piques my curiosity, but I don’t like little stories that tell me I’ll have good luck if I pass it on or will have bad luck if I don’t.  I consider such a message bad luck in itself.  And I don’t like emails to tell me to send it on to 10 best friends.  I probably have a lower number of “best friends”.  That’s how they stay best friends.  Sending them messages to send on to their 10 best friends is a good way to put a shadow on our friendship.  People are busy and time is precious.  Just trying to think of who your best friends are is time consuming . . and it involves judging, which I try to avoid.

But if a friend sends me a note that he wrote himself it brightens my day and sometimes it prompts me to send a personal note on to someone else.  Not the one that I received, but a little message in my own words from my own heart.

Even in this age, in this day, we can communicate something real that we experienced, that we thought, that we felt.

Good feelings are passed on . . . automatically.  It’s magic.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margy Ehrenfried
    Aug 28, 2015 @ 08:39:06

    Perfect!

    Reply

  2. Betty
    Aug 28, 2015 @ 09:43:14

    Totally agree. The ones that crack me up are the ones that say things like “forward if you love your grandchildren.” Every once in a while a really funny cartoon with get my attention and I have to share but lately I’ve just been sharing with people that I think would appreciate it. I scroll quickly over pets that I see every day, too. I understand they are important in the lives of the owners and I’m happy for them. I’m not complaining and we all use facebook differently. I like getting little glimpses into my friends’ lives from all over the world.

    Reply

  3. Sara Markland
    Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:33:45

    did you send this to Keala? if nit, please do. this is a great point delivered gently

    Sent with Aloha, Sara

    >

    Reply

  4. Donna Milner Thomas
    Aug 28, 2015 @ 13:56:21

    Amen!

    Wishing you well…

    Donna

    >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

