Merry Christmas everywhere . . . . .

Columbus house

I am in Columbus, Texas, one hour west of Houston, having Christmas with my daughter and her husband. This is a delightful small town full of well preserved old homes with front porches and lots of decorative detail. And here I have been surprised.

On Saturday I gave readings from my book at the local library. More people came than I expected and my daughter Sara welcomed them and said a few words of introduction. Then, as she went to her seat, half the guests rose and began to sing.

It was the choir from the Methodist church and they came to sing for me the song I had written so many years ago and printed last year in my book.

If you’ve read my book you will remember that I once wrote new words for The Old Rugged Cross at a minister’s request, because he said his congregation loved to sing the song but the words were depressing and rather detracted from his sermon. But he didn’t use my words and I never heard my words sung.  Now I was hearing them and I must say it brought tears to my eyes.

 The New Rugged Cross 

There’s a new world of thought

In the truth Jesus taught,

There’s a new world of living for me

When the way that I choose

Transforms and renews

And lifts me to all I can be.

 

Chorus:

So I’ll walk in the light of his truth,

Turn from suffering and sorrow and sin

To the joy and the sunshine of youth

That live in my kingdom within.

 

There’s a new world of love

When my thoughts rise above

All that’s human and petty and low,

For the good that I see

Is the love within me

That shines on the world that I know.

 

(Chorus)

 

There’s a new world for me

For my spirit is free,

Though in flesh, yet a part of the Word

When I know that I am

And I shall be again

And forever a child of the Lord.

 

Chorus:

So I’ll walk in the light of his truth,

Turn from suffering and sorrow and sin

To the joy and the sunshine of youth

That live in my kingdom within.

So this Christmas I will look upon that cradle scene with thankful thoughts for the one who came to bring us new ways, new thoughts, new hope.  And I  shall hope we now find it time, instead of worshipping the teacher , to take his words to heart and realize a positive life based on love.

Merry Christmas and, as we say in Hawaii, Mele Kalikimaka.

– Doris Markland

 

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. John of the GMA
    Dec 24, 2015 @ 19:17:50

    Thank you, Doris. It seems to have gotten dusty in here all of a sudden. Merry Christmas, and thank you for another beautiful story!

    Reply

  2. Gary Ehrenfried
    Dec 24, 2015 @ 19:29:02

    Greetings! Doris, I can never seem to get into the space to reply ‘above this line’ so here goes. . . . . .

    What a wonderful surprise for you to hear the words you wrote sung by the choir! Did Sara know that this was to be? Bet you are having a great time there in Columbus. Assume your trip went well, including the change of planes in Chicago. In no time, you will be back on a plane and heading to beautiful Hawaii!

    Today we had a lovely Christmas letter and card from Tom and family. He writes nearly as well as his mother. ME

    Reply

  3. Betty Clark
    Dec 24, 2015 @ 23:45:22

    How very special in so many ways.

    Reply

  4. Donna Milner Thomas
    Dec 25, 2015 @ 07:06:00

    Doris, you have lived a life of kindness and wonder…how nice to see how beautifully you are heralded! Merry, Merry Christmas and a New Year that continues to titillate and amuse your heart❤️

    Wishing you well…

    Donna

    >

    Reply

  5. Jeanie sellars
    Dec 25, 2015 @ 17:54:32

    What a beautiful Christmas, Doris,….kudos to you and your sweet dayghter

    Reply

  6. Kathy
    Jan 14, 2016 @ 08:15:19

    So inspiring! I can see why there could easily be tears in your eyes!
    There were probably tears in MANY eyes there as they sang a beautiful song!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

