A special day today . . . . .

Sara with pigtailsSara 1987

Many years ago today I gave birth to my first child, Sara.  It’s a moment you never forget, but the memory sketched deepest is the one when you’re back in your room and the nurse comes in and places the baby in your arms, then leaves you alone.  I wrote about this once for a Hallmark card.  It became a favorite and was printed more than once, with different covers, and then in a book.  Later, in my book as well.   Today I will print it again as I say Happy Birthday to Sara.    . . . . . . . . . . . . . Then, on this same date, years later, Sara welcomed her first child, Jeff, into this world.  So Happy Birthday to Jeff too.

 

 

Come to Mother 

Here we are, my little one,

Alone at last, we two,

And my eyes are full of wonder

At the pure delight of you

Stretching, yawning, stirring

On your tiny flannelette,

With arms and legs like petals

Of a rose not opened yet.

I count the toes and fingers,

Touch the tender, wrinkled skin,

Explore your new, sweet baby scent

And lovingly breathe in.

As best I can I tuck you back

Into your cozy fold.

I kiss and gently take you up

Into my arms to hold,

From every fiber of my being

Softly calling, “Come to Mother,”

As then we meet and, heart to heart,

We recognize each other.

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sara
    Feb 04, 2016 @ 14:55:29

    Thank you for posting a picture taken 30
    years ago and not recently!! 😜

    Reply

  2. Margy Ehrenfried
    Feb 04, 2016 @ 15:24:30

    That was so nice to read! Happy Birthday to Sara! Margy

    Reply

  3. Donna Milner Thomas
    Feb 04, 2016 @ 15:53:03

    What a beautiful tribute! Happy Birthday, Sara🎉

    Wishing you well…

    Donna

    >

    Reply

  4. Kathy
    Feb 04, 2016 @ 17:58:47

    Oh, I love that so much, Doris! Thank you for warming our hearts!

    Reply

  5. Addie Scheve
    Feb 04, 2016 @ 22:01:50

    so beautiful,  Doris…Love Addie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

