Hello, My name is Doris . . . . .

Doris baby pictureClick to enlarge

 

I’ve just become aware of a new movie “Hello, My Name is Doris” starring Sally Field.

And I thought what a wonderful title for the above picture, one of the very few I have of me as a child.

I will go to see the movie, even though Doris in the movie thinks she’s growing old and takes a liking to a younger man.  I wouldn’t do that.  I wouldn’t even be looking for an older man.  I am quite content with my single life and the freedom to go where I please, do what I please, eat what I please and say what I please.

Sometimes this could get me into trouble, but I’m even beyond that.  When people think I’m being weird or saying weird things they do nothing but exchange looks.  You know the look.  It involves nothing but the eyes, and they always assume no one notices.

I’ve written in various ways about this trip, walking slowly backward out of life.  I just hope I remain conscious to the end so I can give everyone a hug and then say “Goodbye.  My name was Doris.”

But please don’t take a picture.

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki Heelan
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 18:27:51

    Doris, I think and feel much as you do…however, we could take a “liking” to a younger man, we just don’t want him around 24/7. In the 25+ years I have been a widow, I’ve often been asked if I would even consider remarriage…I just smile and say “Not unless he kept his own house.”! I also ask folks who give me “the look” you mentioned “Did you just roll your eyes out loud?”….

    Reply

  2. Betty Clark
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 18:37:23

    This was beautiful, Doris. I want to be like you when I grow up. I admire you on so many levels.

    Reply

  3. Donna Thomas
    Mar 11, 2016 @ 10:43:20

    Love this! So appreciate your frank and thoughtful perspectives!

    Reply

  4. Jeanie Sellars
    Mar 12, 2016 @ 16:59:07

    Like your name, will think of you when I see the movie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

