Tantalus

 

You might think I took this picture from the air as I flew out of Honolulu Tuesday.  No, I was on a mountain side, stopping on Tantalus Drive to look down on the city one day a few years ago.

It’s always hard to leave that place, because it is very beautiful.  Up through the island, driving on highways cut through the mountains, or driving around the outside of the island with beautiful blue and turquoise water to one side of us, with white capped waves slapping at the shore, we stored memories that our cameras could not catch.

You’d think that far from home in such a romantic and memorable place we could escape the realities of life today.  Maybe for a few hours, off and on, but Hillary and Trump still ruled the TV and the traffic was held up sometimes for hours for the President and his staff and his children to go for a shave-ice on their vacation.  Locals were a bit put out by all his ventures and the huge staff that accompanied him.

It is always good to return to Nebraska.  Kind friends met me and on the drive home I looked for the green that was almost ready to show on the tree limbs.  Lots of green on the ground.  This year was, in fact, the greenest year I can remember seeing in Nebraska, through most of the seasons.

On my last day in Honolulu my bags were packed and closed.  My apartment was cleaned and closed.  I had hours of free time before the flight, so daughter Sara and I went to the theater and saw Hello, My Name Is Doris.  Sally Field starred as Doris, and I’ll guarantee she will be up for awards.  Great performance and a good movie.

But it’s good to be home.  The air is clear, the sky is blue and there was a gentle rain to greet me.  The sunset will be beautiful here too, but it’s pleasant to remember the ones I saw in Hawaii.

Waikiki Sunset

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeanie Sellars
    Apr 02, 2016 @ 20:41:57

    Welcome home Doris

    Reply

  2. Donna Thomas
    Apr 03, 2016 @ 17:56:06

    How I enjoy your descriptions and photos of paradise! I’m happy to hear you are safely home and enjoying the early buds of spring. We returned to Minnesota and snow, and grey skies, and stark trees. I sure miss the warm sun, beautiful skies, palms and so many colorful flowers. We have such beautiful memories to safely tuck in our hearts and minds.
    Be in touch. Continue your writings. They do speak to me❤️

    Reply

Leave a Reply

