Moms . . . . .

mother and child

 

I love this old picture.  I picked it up from an image page online and do not have permission to use it, but then I don’t know if anyone cares since I’m not using it for profit.

Maybe it’s the apron that brings so many memories.  Or maybe the rug in front of the door.  Those are things I see.  But the thing I feel is mother’s hand on the shoulder.

At times, I think it is still there.

My mother has been gone for 22 years but I still have special thoughts of her as Mother’s Day approaches.  I wish I could surprise her with a copy of my book, just as I used to surprise her with poems . . when I was small, and again as a college student when I sent my laundry home.  (Can you imagine that?  Well, we didn’t have any other way.  Didn’t even, as yet, have laundromats, much less automatic washers.)

If you have a mother to honor, you might like to give her a copy of my book.  Most moms enjoy it and last year, after reading it, several moms that I know ordered copies for all their grown chldren.

Playing Life by Ear . . .Notes from Eighty-nine Years of Living, Learning, Laughing, Loving and Believing.  Can be ordered from Amazon.com or iUniverse.com.  In my city it is available at Abbey Bookstore. . . or from a cardboard box in my garage.

And suggest it to your friends, if you would be so kind.

Mahalo

Er, oh yes, I’m back on the Mainland now.

Thanks.

D. M.

 

 

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. livetheloveyouare
    Apr 17, 2016 @ 18:39:23

    Hi Doris,I have begun writing my blog. It’s at http://www.KristineLBaker.com I’m still learning the ins and outs of using WordPress. Love to get your posts. Just left my Aunt’s 100th birthday celebration in Redlands, CA. I came from Santa Fe on the train for the event. It was worth the journey. Love and Blessings to you,Kristine

    Date: Sun, 17 Apr 2016 19:25:07 +0000 To: bakerkristine@hotmail.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

