Drawing on memories . . . . .

Pencil3

 

Some of you who have read my book may remember that I had another drawing there similar to this.  I have absolutely no artistic talent, but I sat down one day some years ago and trusted my memory to give me some pictures from my childhood and help me put them on paper

Looking at that picture the other day I went back and found this crude one also, and I paid attention to the fence.  I thought I had just made it up, but in a real photo I found later, that is the fence we had then.

Our memory is so much better than we realize.  Do you ever, in your mind, go back and visit places you have lived in the past?  I do, and I can walk through the rooms and see everything as it was then.  I can even feel the feelings that I felt in that place.

A place . . a feeling . . a fine detail is somehow easier to remember than someone’s name.  No, wait.  I do also remember the names of people around me back in the 20’s and 30’s.

I just can’t remember the names of people I met yesterday.

Something that’s part of growing old is that you search your memory, reviewing everything, in case there is something you missed or forgot.  I believe that memories are the most prized souvenirs from this planet.  We worry about what we’re going to do with all the photographs we took through the years, but we have far more in a very private place that no one can see but us

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dan Lester
    Jun 15, 2016 @ 22:58:19

    Doris, another great piece, just like the book and all of your posts. I’m only 73 but totally understand every word and picture. Love and blessings from the desert.

    Reply

  2. Jeanie sellars
    Jun 16, 2016 @ 13:53:56

    How true and so well said….thanks for reminding us all…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

