The Canvas Chair . . . . .

 

Lawn Chair

 

As I’ve written before, we learn a lot from our experiences in life, but we learn a lot too from the lessons of those we know and love.

I cannot but think that life is constantly teaching me, in little ways and in big ways, and that much of it goes over my head . . or under the bed.

I wrote a poem and then decided to draw an illustration to go with it.  I have no talent for art and have not studied it, so my sketching was crude and it was small.  I copied it and then tried to enlarge it on my computer but it wouldn’t do that.  So the drawing is set in stone, as are many of my thoughts, perhaps.

When I think back to events from the past, a “saved” picture may seem large or small to me, depending upon how much importance I give it.  If it’s something lovely, a wonderful memory, I may see it in full life, and in color.  If it was something not important it won’t be important in my mental file.  If it’s something regretful that happened and that I learned from, that picture will grow smaller in time and fade when I’ve learned the lesson.

But why did I write this poem about life? Probably because I think about life and I treasure it more as I move toward the exit door.  But why did I write about troubled life?  Probably because I don’t know what I’m talking about, because I had very few troubles in my life.  Just as I didn’t know about sketching because my experience there was sketchy.”

Maybe because someone close to me is having a rough time putting away old memories and planning some new ones and gradually enlarging them, in color . . . the kind you see in full daylight  and not the kind you see in the middle of the night.

 

             Direction

When things go wrong

and life goes off the script

and I say “What the . . .?”

When the story takes

a sudden turn and people

that I didn’t cast

walk on . .

When the set is

being damaged while

I sleep or take vacations,

then I wake up just in time,

get back into my canvas chair

and pick up the megaphone.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dan Lester
    Jun 30, 2016 @ 12:19:33

    Is that an alternate ending, or a previous draft that didn’t get deleted?

    Dan Lester, St. George, Utah, USA

    >

    Reply

  2. Sara
    Jun 30, 2016 @ 12:21:28

    very nice

    Did you know I have a canvas chair out on my little lanai that I often sit in during the evening hours….trying to find some direction in my life.  

      Sent with Aloha, Sara

    Reply

  3. Donna Thomas
    Jun 30, 2016 @ 12:32:07

    Always thought provoking…the addendum a sure jolt of reality.
    Thinking of you often.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

