From the chair . . . . .

Granny Chair

The Chair

If you’ve read my book you’ve seen the poem that people seem to like best of all the poems I’ve written.  It begins “Now that I’m older I have my own chair that nobody uses but me, they don’t dare.”  So true that we claim our favorite chair and spend time in it, and thinking about that this morning I came upon a flood of ideas.

I realize that I write best in my chair.  Sitting here, often still in my nightgown, with the news turned down and my coffee cup empty, I come upon an idea and with the computer in my lap I begin talking to it with my fingers.  I write whatever comes to me, just letting it flow.

It is later, on another day, at a different time I go into my office to conduct the business of reviewing this writing, organizing or making corrections.  It is in my office that I may prepare the writing to send off to a publication or to file as a possible piece for a book.

This is the way things work.  Inspiration comes through to us when we are relaxed, just being ourselves, when we are in the “feeling” part of us. To make use of this inspiration we move into the business side of our nature and do the work of refining and sharing.

Just like I can dream of how I want my house to be.  I can see what I want the rooms to look like. I can feel the way a room could make me feel. But to make this dream come true I must earn the money to fund the changes, shop at stores to make choices and compare prices, hire others to do the work that’s beyond me. Then it all comes together.

But back to the chair.  It is the chairman who is in charge of the board.  To get something done we ask someone to chair the committee.  When we demand the complete truth from someone we place him in a chair.  We train our newest family members in a high chair so they can join us at our level, learn about our foods, listen to our words and watch our faces. And in past years when someone destroyed his own life by taking the life of others,he was sentenced to the chair.

I can think of so many times in my life when I lost my direction or when I was debating my choices, or when I was stressed by decisions, that I dropped it all and sat down to think of nothing, perhaps to doze.  And how often I woke up to the thought “I know what I want to do!” and then I went and did it.

What it comes down to is that we are each the chairman of our own life.  No matter what. If we are not running our own life we have made the decision as chairman to hand it over to someone else.  Rehab is making our decision to take it back.

These things I must remember.  It is my body that rests in the comfort of my chair.  And when I am completely relaxed and have put aside for the moment all of life’s challenges, I am me and it is my soul that speaks.

 

 

 

 

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty Clark
    Aug 13, 2016 @ 13:12:31

    Deep thoughts today. I love reading your words.

    Reply

  2. Sara Markland
    Aug 13, 2016 @ 13:57:52

    Have you started watching Wentworth yet? WOW!! Best season yet

    Sent with aloha, Sara

    >

    Reply

  3. John of the GMA
    Aug 13, 2016 @ 14:34:39

    I obviously need a chair.

    Reply

  4. livetheloveyouare
    Aug 13, 2016 @ 16:35:39

    Thank you Doris, A very timely article for me as I am doing more creative writing. You are such a writing genius.

    Reply

  5. Vicki Heelan
    Aug 13, 2016 @ 18:18:41

    Thank you! As I read this was sitting in a chair that I realized I didn’t really like very much. You’ve inspired me to go shopping so thank you (I think?)….

    Reply

  6. MARGY EHRENFRIED
    Aug 13, 2016 @ 18:50:04

    Always good reading. Thank you, Doris.

    Reply

  7. Kathy
    Aug 21, 2016 @ 09:46:12

    I love it when you share your thoughts with us, Doris — you have such a way with words — and connecting them to feelings!
    Thanks for opening up our minds to explore and experience life with you ~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

