About the piano . . . . .

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

piano-6

 

An Arizona librarian has asked to hear the story of the piano.

When my husband died I knew I would be moving to a smaller place and I let some of the family take things from my house. My beloved piano went with my grandson so his children could experience piano lessons. I felt good about that, but in time I missed the piano. After my move I had a blank wall, perfect for a piano, and I went shopping.

I could not find a good used piano at a good price in music stores, but there was one advertised in the daily newspaper: Used piano $95 or best offer. I was in my car immediately, driving to a nearby town. Late afternoon there was not much light in their living room, but the piano seemed to look all right and none of the keys stuck. I told the man I would take it if he would deliver it. No problem. He had two strong sons and a truck. They were anxious to find a home for the piano immediately because they were moving to Arizona.

The piano fit the space perfectly. Before I even touched the keys I went to the computer to pull up the brand, one that I had never heard of. It was a Charles R. Walter piano.  Of course I had never seen one in the homes of my friends, just as I had not found a Steinway there. This was top of the line. I read the history of this family business which has been passed through generations. They make only the grand piano and the concert. The lid on this props up just as the grands do.

When I had the piano tuned I asked the tuner, who is also owner of a music store, how I should price the piano if I should ever sell it . . or when my children do (after I’ve played my last song).   He said if I sold it to an individual I should ask $1600. To a store I should expect $1200.

And it plays beautifully.

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty Clark
    Oct 23, 2016 @ 15:38:17

    Great story. You were meant to have it and I am glad you do.

    Reply

  2. LaRae Worden
    Oct 23, 2016 @ 16:11:25

    Sometime I want to hear you play!

    Reply

  3. Donna Thomas
    Oct 24, 2016 @ 13:44:22

    Doris’s magic👏🎶❤️

    Reply

  4. John of the GMA
    Oct 25, 2016 @ 13:19:47

    Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

