Pie-eyed Venture on a indoor day . . . . .

fireplace

It happens every year, but the first time I look out to a white lawn, pristine, free of footsteps or any signs of disturbance, it is always a feeling that I’ve been given a clean slate, a new beginning. It also takes me back into the past and my childhood joy of finding snow to play in and to give us the background for everything beautiful about Christmas.

Yet, it does tell me it’s cold outside, the streets may be slick. I don’t want to walk to the mailbox. I’m glad I’ve stocked up on groceries and have no appointments. This is a day when I stay inside and make cozy.

So I lit the gas fireplace and spent the morning in my comfy easy chair, refining a few pieces for what may be my next book. It was a lovely  day, and I decided to do something I’ve been thinking of.

I hadn’t made a real pie completely from scratch for years, although a few times a while back I may have made one with a boughten crust. Homemade pie crust like my mother made is tricky and hard to handle. But I read a hint online recently that if you use about 3 teaspoons of vodka to replace some of the water in the recipe, the pie crust is very easy to handle (and the alcohol is cooked off in the baking.) I found I could buy a tiny bottle of vodka at Hy-Vee, and I had done so.

The idea came back to me this morning and got me out of my chair this afternoon and to the kitchen. It took me an hour to cut up the apples and to make the crust, roll it out and put the pie together. (Well, I did have to answer the phone and have a few other interruptions)

The pie came together easily. It baked beautifully. It is cooling now and I’m told I should not cut it for at least two hours. Oooh, but it smells good.

However, with  a bit of scrap dough I made and baked a tart. Did your mother do that? I rolled out the dough, cut two circles, one with a smaller round hole in the middle. Then, after baking, I put them together with jam.  I’ve baked it and eaten it now, and while it was presentable I think the crust was a bit tough, not flaky. So we’ll see, after a while how the pie rates. No doubt, I still don’t have the touch anymore.

Did your mother have a certain design she cut into the top crust of a pie for vents? My mother’s was always the same and I have always used it too. Maybe we can be as proud of that as the English are of their family crests.

pie

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy Post
    Dec 11, 2016 @ 06:43:06

    The tart looks professional and so inviting!!
    What a heartwarming (and body-warming) story!

    Reply

  2. Betty Clark
    Dec 14, 2016 @ 18:32:13

    Beautiful pie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

