Coming soon . . . watch for it . . .

 

I haven’t written here for a while because I have been busy putting the last touches on my new book. That means I have been over it and over it and over it, and Sara has been over it too, looking for typos or other silly mistakes. But this week I turned it in and at this moment an editor is reading it to determine whether it is worth printing.

My first book was a collection of things I had written through the years. This book is a collection of things I wrote through this year, If accepted it will probably come out at about the time of my 92nd Birthday in August.

It will be named My Half of the Conversation. In this book I talk about many things, light-hearted moments and serious subjects as well, and encourage you to consider your half of the conversation.  In Hawaii they have a phrase I just love.  When they get together they “talk story.”  I hope you will join me in my book to talk story, and I’m leaving a few blank pages in the book for notes on your half of the conversation. We’ll think and talk about many of life’s mysteries.

Meanwhile, I am learning to live without driving a car, for no reason other than my age.  It is the most difficult thing I have ever done. Writing a book? No, that’s duck soup in comparison.

And meanwhile, I have just received results of my DNA test and learned, just as expected, that I am more than half Scandinavian and the rest is English and North/West European.  Yet . . the only surprise . . I am 5.3% Italian. So maybe my maiden name should have been Doris Petersinskioliono.

I have a beautiful apricot hibiscus blooming by my front door again. It is a lovely spring, although I think summer just hit us with 100 degrees.

Have a good day.

Doris Peterinskioliiono Markland

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. livetheloveyouare
    Jun 10, 2017 @ 12:45:18

    Congratulations on the new book. I know it does take a lot of work.

    Reply

  2. Betty
    Jun 10, 2017 @ 13:59:18

    Looking forward to it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

