Colors from the past . . . . .

 

I’m going about the house this morning, picking things up, dusting things off, and appreciating little things. I’m noticing how many objects about the house are very personal to me, each with memories from my earlier years. Don’t you find that true in your house too? I’m going to share a few of my memories here from time to time

Here is the dress form from my early sewing years. I did sew some of my own clothes and certainly clothes for my daughter . . such as her prom dress. But the dress on this form happens to be one I bought in Houston probably twenty years ago. It looks old-fashioned, but it was just trendy then. I only wore it a few times, but I do remember wearing it to Sunday brunch, near the water, on the terrace of the famous Moana hotel. It seemed appropriate there, but you can imagine it would look weird in most places.

Although the fake flowers on the hat came from Hawaii, the hat itself came home with me from Peurto Rico. I had been there for a conference and upon return I shocked husband Gene by walking off the plane with a new haircut and the big hat and a bottle of rum for Gene.  I had been wearing that large hair style with back-combing. Pictures of that are horrible to look at now, but it was the acceptable style at that time.

The picture on the wall here is indeed precious to me. It was on the wall in the upstairs guest room of my grandparents’ home. When I was a child Grandma put me there for an afternoon nap, and put a Fritz Kreisler record on the Edison before leaving me alone. I had not wanted to nap, but I couldn’t help drifting off as the cool breeze blew the lace curtains in and as I gazed at my beautiful friend on the wall, the little girl with the dove. Everything about this picture said “peace”, and I’ve carried it all these years in my mind.

It seems right that now, in my old age, I fall asleep, with this little girl near, as peacefully as I did at four.

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Jun 14, 2017 @ 15:30:29

    Oh, I love this story. Love the picture and your dress, too!

    Reply

  2. Kathy
    Jun 16, 2017 @ 08:48:57

    Beautiful pictures and memories. Thanks for warming our hearts with that story!
    And welcome back!! Coffee together soon, I hope!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

