Cutting out the biscuits . . . . .

 

I don’t know why, but I’ve had baking powder biscuits on my mind lately, the high golden ones my mother made and that were so good for breakfast, with butter and jam. I loved them so much I would even eat a cold when I came home hungry after school.

In the summer she sometimes made a huge one, split it and put it back together with sugared strawberries between and over the top. People argue about which is best, the biscuit or the cake, with strawberries . . and either whipped cream or ice cream.

I found a recipe online that looked superb, the biscuits  raised high with a golden crust. I saved it, and this morning decided to give it a try. I would have it with bacon and eggs and an excellent raspberry jam I bought cheap at the day-old bread store. I put them together with anticipation, but took them out of the oven with disappointment. The crust was golden,and crisp, but the inside was doughy.

I remember how quickly my mother and my grandmother put their biscuits together, how easily. Maybe because they did it so often. But, really, I think I could have done better if I had a table full of hungry people sitting at the table waiting for the biscuits. I was a fairly good cook once, but there’s something about cooking for one that just isn’t the same.

Here are two of my favorite shortcake recipes. Neither is for biscuits.

Shortcake  (This is our favorite) 

½ cup sugar

½ cup soft butter

2 tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

1 cup flour

1 egg

½ cup milk

Mix all ingredients lightly and pour batter into 8 x 12 prepared pan.  Sprinkle generously with ¼ cup sugar, and bake at 375 degrees until brown, 20-30 minutes.  Serve hot or cold with fresh berries, topped with whipped cream.

Strawberry Shortcake

½ cup plus 1-1/2  tsp  butter

6 T plus 1-1/2 tsp sugar

1 egg

½ tsp salt

grated peel of 1 lemon

2 cups flour

2 tsp baking powder

7 T milk

Cream butter and sugar. Beat in egg, salt, lemon.Fold in dry ingredients.

Bake 345 for about 40 min.

This recipe was taken from The Great Scandinavian Cookbook. Odd amounts

are because of conversion from Swedish measurements. This recipe is good also

. . less cake-y . . in taste and texture a little like the old fashioned

biscuit recipe our mothers used.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Jul 25, 2017 @ 14:00:05

    Saving this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

