hotel April

This is a hotel I see acoss the street. It normally has two yellow chairs on each of those little curved lanais. We often see guests relaxing in those chairs after a day of adventures on this island. Rooms on this side of the hotel do not give a view of the ocean, but they do have beautiful mountain views and look over the city as well.

Anyway, one day I looked out to see maids carrying all the yellow chairs inside, closing the door and closing the drapes. I did not know it for a while, but the hotel closed that day. That’s what was going on. Probably about the same time other hotels were closing and all the famous designer stores in Waikiki boarded up their store fronts.

It’s very quiet here these days. I live in a complex of over 800 units, so usually it is alive with people in and out of the building, up and down the elevators. Now it is quiet, with no tourist visitors and only those who actually live here. There is no waiting for an elevator. Everyone here and, in fact, all over town, is wearing masks and shrinking away from others. It is so un-aloha.

But we’re hoping there will be a rush to Hawaii when this is all over. I have read it might be so. There certainly will be great prices offered and special hotel incentives. . So many people here at this time have no work, no income. I so feel for them.

Meanwhile my life goes on as always. I’m writing almost every day and have hopes of touching the heart of some magazine editor with one of my pieces. Not likely, of course, as who wants to read the thoughts of a very old lady. Actually, truth be known, as I grow older my thoughts become more interesting, more honest and perhaps more daring. Who is to question me if I write what I learned in 94 years? Not many can match that kind of education. If I speak up perhaps I can earn a summa cum loud.

Meanwhile:     This has to be the strangest time  that I have ever seen

I’ve never worn a mask before, even on Halloween.

t

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

\\

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jason
    May 05, 2020 @ 08:00:06

    keep writing, loud. 🤣😷😂

    Reply

  2. Betty
    May 05, 2020 @ 09:36:26

    I love how you are dealing with everything. That is what you do. Wish we could visit.

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.